College Women’s Club Awards 2019 Scholarships

The historic College Women’s Club of Pasadena announced awards totaling $41,000 for the 2019-2020 school year, the largest amount in the scholarship program’s history.

Twelve women representing five area colleges were awarded scholarships at the annual College Women’s Club of Pasadena award luncheon, held Tuesday, May 7th, 2019 at the Women’s City Club. The dedicated women receiving scholarship awards represent undergraduate, graduate, and doctoral students of all ages, backgrounds, and aspirations. From journalism, medicine, and public policy to global mental health, and design to improve health care delivery for marginalized populations, these women are sure to be a powerful force for change now and in the future.

Founded in 1921, the College Women’s Club of Pasadena allocates financial aid to approximately 10 full-time students each year. The Club has 80 current members who raise funds through events, a boutique, and donations, and its $1.5 million endowment – which generates the annual scholarship awards – is held and managed by the Pasadena Community Foundation (PCF).

San Gabriel Valley college students awarded scholarships include Glendale Community College students Michelle Garabetian (Barbara Johansen Memorial Award) and Melanie Kasparian (Ruth Alcorn Memorial Award), and Pasadena City College’s Selina Pacheco (Louise Hamm Memorial Award).

Two Art Center College of Design students were named scholarship recipients: Maya Friedman (Julia Lockwood Memorial Award), and Topacio Guzman (Carol Numrich Memorial Award).

Four Fuller Graduate School of Psychology students awarded fellowships include Denette Boyd-King (Hazel Harken Memorial Award); Karissa Burnett (Helen and Marie Salandra Memorial Award); Bethany Ferguson (Mary McCullough Memorial Award); and, Jennifer Vaughn (Francis Meyer Memorial Award).

Occidental College is represented by three awards, including Molly Kauffman (Mary O’Hearn Memorial Award); Sarah Lassof (Josephine Crocker Memorial Award); and Kristine White (Carol Kretzer Memorial Award).

Ann Kimball is the President of the College Women’s Club of Pasadena, and Marilyn Siemon-Burgeson is the Chair of the Scholarship Committee. Membership in the College Women’s Club of Pasadena is open to any woman interested in the club’s engaging opportunities. College affiliation is not expected. The scholarship committee is just one of the club’s many activities. Members and guests share monthly luncheons, tour regional attractions, and perform volunteer service.

For more on the College Women’s Club of Pasadena, click here.

Back row: Melanie Kasparian, Michelle Garabetian, Karissa Burnett, Denette Boyd-King. Middle Row: Topacio Guzman, Bethany Ferguson, Jennifer Vaughn. Front row: Marilyn Siemon Burgeson, Molly Kauffman, Kristine White, Maya Friedman, Selina Pacheco, and Ann Kimball.