College Women’s Club Awards Scholarships to 14 Local Women

Ten of the 14 scholarship recipients attended the Spring Awards Ceremony on May 1, 2022

A festive backyard ice cream social on a recent warm Sunday afternoon was the setting for the College Women’s Club (CWC) Spring Scholars Ceremony. The event honored 14 local young women who are the 2022 recipients of fellowships and scholarships awarded by CWC in partnership with Pasadena Community Foundation. The scholarships ensure continued assistance to students pursuing their educational goals at nearby institutions that include Caltech, ArtCenter for Design, Glendale Community College, East Los Angeles Community College, and Cal State LA School of Nursing.

More than 70 CWC members and guests celebrated the academic achievements of these remarkable young women, joined by dignitaries that included Cal State Los Angeles professors Dr. Renee R. Johnson and Patricia A. Chin from the School of Nursing; Aida Avannousian, Student Services Manager, Glendale Community College; and PCF’s own Program Manager, Allie Carreon.

Caltech scholar Abigail Jiang (L) shares remarks, accompanied by CWC member Leslie Rasmussen (R)

A Lasting Legacy of Support

College Women’s Club of Pasadena Scholarship Foundation has awarded over $1.2 million to more than 600 young women in the greater Pasadena area throughout the Club’s 101-year-history. In 2016, CWC endowed the scholarship foundation with PCF, which created the CWC Scholarship Foundation Endowment. PCF manages the endowment, while Club members raise funds and select scholarship recipients. This partnership ensures the perpetuity of the Club’s outreach and mission.

2022 Scholarship Recipients

We warmly commend the accomplishments of the following young women and their selection as CWC’s 2022 Scholars:

Aida Ohadi – Art Center College of Design
Abigail Young – Fuller Theological Seminary

Ariel Bensen – California State University, Los Angeles (CSULA) School of Nursing
Trinity Chung – PCC
Tracy Hong – CSULA School of Nursing
Tram Huynh – East Los Angeles College
Abigail Jiang – Caltech
Gyooyeon Kim – ArtCenter College of Design
Alexandra Noel – CSULA School of Nursing
Esmerelda Martinez – CSULA School of Nursing
Felicia Melo – CSULA School of Nursing
Frances Ann Nogoy – Glendale Community College
Sarin Teker – Glendale Community College
Elvira Valencia – East Los Angeles College

Visit the College Women’s Club Scholarship Foundation Endowment fund page to learn more or make a donation.

PCC student and scholarship recipient Trinity Chung (L) with CWC member Cathy Nese (R).